FOG: Footsteps of Ghosts
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Christoph Writer's Corner

4 posters

Go down

The Christoph Writer's Corner Empty The Christoph Writer's Corner

Post by Christoph Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:44 am

Greetings everyone! Welcome to my Writer’s Corner. I am Christoph, and those who know me also know that I am an avid writer who tries constantly to improve and help others improve. I served on the staff of Althanas.com for quite some time, working as both a Judge, reviewing and critiquing threads submitted by the members, and as an official Content Writer. I have also spent healthy stints on Writingforums.org and Critters.org, where I critiqued many, many different stories.

This thread will, in the fullness of time, provide some (hopefully) useful tips and articles on various areas of writing and storytelling. It is geared specifically toward people who both love writing and want to get better at it. FoG strikes me as the perfect place for this, as it’s full of ambitious members who love writing as much as I do, and who may benefit from my past research, studying, and experiences.

This series will primarily consist of original articles and essays, though I may post some excerpts from other sources on occasion (with proper citation). Enjoy!

Chapter One: “Word Power, part 1”

I find it easiest to begin with the most basic and fundamental aspect of writing: the writing itself. The first few articles in this series will focus exclusively on elements of prose. Simply put, it is important, as even a good story loses much value if poorly told. A writer uses prose to deliver the story to the readers. Good prose grabs hold of the reader and tells the story in vibrant detail. Great prose does this with the reader rarely even noticing it.